In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today's world, businesses promote their products, stating that they are different and better than their competitors, in their ads. In my opinion, this is due to a surge in the number of products available in the market nowadays and because advertising is one of the most important decision-making factors for most customers. On the one hand, the internet has opened up a lot of options and opportunities for people to shop online, which has led to huge competition between multiple brands and stores. In other words, the only differentiating factor left that can influence a consumer’s decision is any form of advertisement. To illustrate, an average user comes up at least a minimum of 15 days a day, and the only way left to grab the individual's attention is to focus on how the product being marketed is different from the rest and what its unique selling proposition is. On the other hand, at times people are constantly bombarded with advertisements across multiple channels like television, radio, social media, and the internet, which makes it extremely frustrating for them. However, it is important that businesses do not make false claims, just for the sake of such advertisements, because it could break the customer's trust and affect the brand value. In conclusion, I believe advertisements are a necessity for businesses today in a world full of competition. As long as, companies do not overdo them and make false claims, it would genuinely improve the customers' buying experience.