University education system is one of the most widely discussed topics these days. Many people believe that college students should be allowed to choose subjects they like to study. Others think that it is always better to learn subjects that have relevance in the future and I agree with them. Both views will be discussed in this essay

Recent years have witnessed that universities' programmes lacked elective modules for students to choose from, and whether allowing college students to select their own interests or not has been a widely debated topic. Meanwhile, some may argue that compulsory subjects may be relevant and essential for their future career. Therefore, the following essay will contain both views about this issue. To begin with, choosing specific courses allows a student to broaden their horizons. In most universities, some language subjects are quite popular, albeit they are not compulsory courses. For instance, Japanese and German are attractive language courses, not only allow students to learn the basics of an unfamiliar language but also can be useful for communication when travelling overseas. Therefore, learning a non-necessary subject in college allows students to improve one's abilities, whereas it may be a drain of time and resources to learn a second language in the community. On the other hand, essential subjects are set to be compulsory for all students, since these contents may contain useful information for their future careers. There is no denying that one of the criteria to graduate with a university degree is to participate in all related courses. Despite being time-consuming, the purpose of each subject is to transform students to become ambitious, hence, they can devote their capabilities to society. As an example, it is ascertained that human anatomy and physiology are necessary for a nursing degree. Since fully acknowledging human structures is related to curing complex diseases, this is beneficial for students to study planned arrangements. Consequently, this learning process is a well-designed plan for all students to take part in future careers in a less stressful way. To conclude, it is believed that learning subjects that are relevant are more important than choosing subjects by ourselves. However, there is no doubt that learning electives are still beneficial for each individual, thus, it is still highly recommended to study elective courses to expand one's potential and talent.