Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Due to modernization and change in living styles, people are buying more packed food to eat instead of fresh food. All these processed items are rich in calories which are causing a lot of health issues like obesity and cholesterol. So, according to some people, these items should be costlier than others to discourage them from buying, however, I do not agree with this statement. I shall explain my point of view in the following paragraphs. Firstly, Increasing the price of food items which have high sugar content is not the best way to avoid people from using them. This will only impact the economy and people will still buy it if they want to have it. Companies add extra sweeteners to enhance their taste and to increase its sale. So, the government should set a mark about how much sweetener needs to be added and need to do regular check-ups to ensure the quality. For Instance, In a Beverage company, the government can check regularly to avoid extra sugar in their concentrate. This way, a person can eat it and will not get suffered from weight gain and other heart issues. Secondly, Discouraging people will ultimately cause a huge loss to the manufacturing sector. Companies spend a lot of amount on the production of such food items. So, they will face financial loss. Moreover, these companies provide employment to many people and if these companies will not be able to make a profit by selling items, then the employees have to face the consequences. For Example, Lately, one of the plants of Pepsico was shut down due to a technical issue and the company fired its workers as they are not able to make money. Instead, people should be couraged to do physical exercise and yoga to remain fit. So, in this,way individuals can enjoy having packed food by keeping themselves fit. To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that health is a major concern, so companies should limit the usage of sugar in their food items and authorities should ensure it. Furthermore, people also have to put effort to remain healthy by doing exercise.