Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is often believed that governments mainly focus on economic progress, while others believe that other spheres of development are important too. Both views on this subject will be discussed, however, in my opinion, these tendencies towards the economy are negative. The advantages of focusing on economic advancements include a rise of price on the products exported from a country and overall a wealthy population. Firstly, it is assumed that the more government support the economic sector of a country has, the more beneficial it is to export products made within a country. For example, the energy sectors in countries like Russia and United Arab Emirates have some government financial contributions, thus, resulting in more natural resources mined and sold on international markets because of high demand. Secondly, the more stimulated the economic market of a country is, the better their residents live. For instance, people from United Arab Emirates are reported to be generally wealthier due to low inflation and stable economy of the country. On the other hand, too much emphasis on the economy by the governments can lead to stagnation and other prosperous types of progress may be ignored. First of all, too much focus on economy has a negative impact on the natural resources of a country. For example, many gas mining spots are exhausted, hence damaging the countries that are entirely dependent on the gas exports. In addition, economically focused countries are believed to have been ignorant to the other perspective types of progress. For instance, some countries are reported to have been only focusing on natural resources and not developing the intellectual market of skilled employees. To summarize, paying a lot of attention to economic development by authorities can have short-term benefits, however, the ignorance of other potential spheres is damaging in the long run. In my opinion, too much focus on economy is a negative trend because it can leave a country dependent only on exports.