Some people think that environmental problems should be solved on a global scale while others believe it is better to deal with them nationally. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are two different opinions about how issues with environment should be dealt with – on global or national scale. For both of them there are valid arguments to be made, but I personally think that it is only possible to properly solve the biggest environmental problems at the scale of the whole planet. Laws and regulations have to be voted for in a state to work on its territory. Air pollution and climate change by today have raised enough awareness for the lawmakers across the whole world to introduce rules and restrictions that should limit further harm to the nature. Often these laws are specific to a particular country due to its unique problems. For instance, there are not many countries like Iceland where laws aiming at preserving glaciers are needed, and at the same time parlaments parliament in such countries probably should not spend time on forbidding to replace rainforests with fields. There are lots of environmental issues which match the national scale. However, the most serious threats to planet Earth cannot be contained by just one, even the biggest or richest country. The atmosphere is shared between all the states, and so are oceans and the global water system. Individual states may contribute a little to global warming, but the total carbon monoxide emissions cause the global temperatures to rise, and therefore, the measures must be taken collectively. In the past, jointly introduced regulations around environmental protection have had successes, such as the growth of the hole in the ozone layer that was stopped. Measures that require countries to collaborate this way are the most critical. In conclusion, while some problems should be addressed by states, the most important of them need global action. Over time, humanity will improve the processes around new environmental regulations in order to save the planet.