Many retired people today are choosing to live in other countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

These days, it is not uncommon that older people who no longer work relocate to other states. There are both positive and negative effects of this trend, and I am going to review them in this essay. It is great that some retirees can afford to freely choose where to live, as often they deserve it with their hard work. The last decades of life in the past were often associated with decline in quality of life, even if elderly did not have to work anymore. Fortunately, now things are different, which has been enabled by both easier access to cheap travel and better capabilities to save enough money. Another advantage is economic growth in regions that attract these people, with the most prominent example being the Mediterranean coast in Spain. At the same time, excessive migration often comes with disadvantages. With the economic growth in these popular regions prices rise there, causing unhappiness of the locals and even secondary migration flows. It is not surprising that freedom of choice for one group of people in this case comes at the expense of worsened lives of less lucky individuals. Not only inhabitants of attractive areas suffer from this kind of migration of old people, but also in many cases their own descendants are at disadvantage. Young couples can no longer receive help from their parents with bringing their kids up if they live in another country. By isolating themselves this way, grandparents are behaving selfishly. To summarise the above, while retirees are consciously improving their lives by moving to different countries and it could even be economically advantageous, for other groups of people these changes might be not positive. In the future, cheaper travel will be the main factor that will help reaching the balance.