one problem faced by almost every city is traffic congestion. what do you think the cuses are? what solutions can you suggest?

One of the main issues faced by all urban cities is traffic jams. Significant improvements in using private vehicles are one of the major reasons for such traffic congestion and the park and ride system is the most viable solution for reducing such congestion. In the last two,decades the number of people who use their own vehicle for travelling is increased.Due to not having proper public transport,facility many Sri Lankan intend to use their private vehicles as a transportation method. Moreover, people believe that by using the private transport method they can avoid unnecessary delays and can complete the journey as they expected. For example one of my friends uses her personal vehicle for her every travelling in fact that she wants to save her time to manage her day-to-day activities. Park and Ride is the most feasible way to reduce the number of vehicles on roads. However, it is essential to provide facilities for parking areas. In addition,providing free-of-charge parking locations for such personal vehicles will be the most suitable method for reducing unnecessary vehicles on road. Similarly, the government should take steps to increase facilities in public transport and more resources should be allocated to develop public transport. Consequently, people will be intending to use the public transport system than using private vehicles. For,instance authorities can study the programme introduced by Anuradapura Urban Council to reduce congestion in cities and town areas. In conclusion,Traffic congestion is one of the major problems faced by the people living in urban zones.I believe that by introducing a park and ride system, many of us can reduce time on the road for day-to-day activities.