Some people think that the government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that the number of children suffering from obesity have risen significantly nowadays. Some people consider that the governments should take a serious action on this issue because it is their responsibility. From my point of view, I personally disagree with this viewpoint for many reasons, described in the following paragraphs. It is true to say that the government plays a vital role in public health management. They can support children to avoid obesity by increasing sport facilities such as fitness equipment within communities in order to encourage children to exercise more often and provide healthcare policy. Additionally, they can control harmful food on sale which can make children lack awareness of choosing a meal, leading to unconscious consumption of eating sweets and junk food. However, there is nothing the government can do if children still have unhealthy habits. Therefore, this can be considered as an individual responsibility. Moreover, It can be seen that nowadays children tend to focus on social media or online games rather than outdoor activities which enable them to pay less attention to their health because they do not have a chance to exercise. Consequently, it increases the cause of obesity among them. In conclusion, I believe that this problem should not be placed only on the shoulders of the government. Both authorities and children should collaborate together to be responsible for the growth of obesity in children. While the government maintains overall public health, each child should be in charge of their own health because choosing to exercise and eat healthy is in the control of each individual.