Celebrity status no longer equates with talent accomplishments. Discuss, give reasons and examples.

In today’s world attaining people attention has became the biggest trend. Is celebrity status parallel with rewards and recognition achieved?. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits the above mentioned point using a pragmatic approach. To commence with, popular personalities in field of sports, politics and entertainment have stardom because of the awards they receive. This popularity is because of the benchmark they have set in their respective fields, for example Sachin Tendulkar, (Indian Cricketer)is honoured as “God of Cricket” because of the milestones he achieved in Cricket and his records are unique. Similarly, Pawan Kalyan (Indian Actor) from the entertainment sector has popularity among youngsters because of his style and mannerism and the same goes with Chandra Babu Naidu (Indian Politician) in the field of politics because of his vision and future planning. Another crucial factor is that, majority of the individuals are taking the celebrity stature for granted. The majority of this mankind are youngsters who want to get instant popularity mostly through internet. To mention a few, YouTube influencers and reality show participants are getting instant popularity as a proof Kathi Mahesh in “Big Boss” reality show has no name and fame in the field of cinema, he gained popularity overnight from a reality show thereby encouraging others to follow suite. To conclude, name and fame should be achieved with performance and excellence by showcasing your talent which in turn may lead to winning awards and creating records. Only when society begins to value genuinely talented individuals then only will the tide begins to turn and we will see celebrities who have truly earned their status.