Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many today argues that companies and grocery stores have the capabilities to reduce the number of packaging for their products. However, others opine that it is the responsibility of the consumers not to patronize products that are enclosed in a lot of packaging. Companies have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging for their products. They choose the designs of the packaging and should select the ones that reduces the amount of unnecessary waste product. In addition, companies have the control over the materials they used for wrapping their merchandise and should choose materials that can be recycled and reused to help with the waste management projects of the society. For instance, company can use jars made out of glass so it can be reused multiple times. Thus, packaging mostly relies on how the company manufacture and design their commodities. On the other hand, consumers have the option to choose what product to buy. They can purchase those which they think have little to decent amount of packaging and stay away from those that have excessive wrappings. Nowadays, some options are also provided to the customers where they can bring their own containers when purchasing groceries. For example, they can bring their own containers for meats, vegetables, and fruits in the supermarket instead of using plastic bags. Hence, purchasing items depends on the customers. In conclusion, I believe that manufacturers and supermarkets are still responsible in reducing the amount packaging due to the fact that it is part of their product presentation and consumers have minor effect on how the product is designed.