Prevention is better than cure. Do you agree or disagree that out of the country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health and education and preventive measures?

The allocation of the nation’s health budget plays an integral part in the well-being of its people. I agree that the prevention of diseases through health teachings and various modalities to avoid certain illnesses should have a greater percentage of the total health share. Health education provides people with information that they need to maintain a healthy body, avoid injuries, and prevent diseases. Health teaching and information dissemination increase the awareness of the community on different programs provided by the government that they can take advantage of to promote their health and wellness. For instance, it provides a venue for health care providers and people in authority to conduct seminars and conferences on how to avoid injuries and accidents at home and at work. Furthermore, knowledge of different illnesses, primarily their prevention and early detection will prevent individuals from getting the disease, thereby, averting them to go through extensive and expensive treatments later on. With this approach, the government can save money and at the same time boost a healthier community. In addition, preventive measures and protocols when strictly observed and followed will have a great impact on minimizing, containing, and eventually stopping the spread of diseases and decreasing the incidence of accidents and injuries. Examples of these are hand washing, immunization and vaccinations, wide distribution of barriers for sexually transmitted infections, and appropriate and safe equipment and gear for employees at work and for families at home, especially the kids. When these measures and protocols are observed, the spread of infection decreases and preventable sickness and accidents can be eliminated, hence, the government will not have to spend more on the treatment and rehabilitation of its people. In conclusion, spending more on prevention rather than cure can significantly help the administration achieve a healthy and safe community. By directing its resources on more essential aspects of health, it is proactively promoting society’s optimum level of wellness while at the same time preventing any future illnesses and treatment.