Computer use is rising rapidly in today’s world, to the point where it has become an accepted element of modern civilization. They may even grow smarter than humans, according to scientists. Some see it as a positive idea, while others see it as a detrimental one. Before coming to a sensible conclusion, this article would analyze the merits and downsides of such a situation.

Arguably, the utilization of computers plays a crucial and irreplaceable part in our current society. This, however, has led to a heated debate regarding whether the hypothetical situation in which computers become smarter than humans should be considered an advantageous outcome or a disastrous one. This essay aims to analyse both perspectives prior to ending with a reasonable conclusion. To commence with, there may be a number of prominent factors which contribute to the general consensus that humanity may benefit greatly from the overly rapid advancement of technology. First of all, it would not be an exaggeration to state that if machines were to surpass humans in terms of intelligence, civilization may experience significant development. This is due to the fact that a superior intelligence has the ability to materialize seemingly implausible ideas into reality, meaning humanity can gain access to technologies that can only be witnessed in science fiction. In addition, innovations in computer technology can considerably minimize the number of mistakes given that a machine which is well programmed may have less chance of making an error compared to a person. In contrast, a myriad of people is fully convinced that having technology gain more insight can lead to adverse impacts. The elevating rate of unemployment is widely recognised to be a potential result of the increasing development of machinery since it is a given that an individual who requires a large amount of rest and various other aspects can not hope to compete with machinery in terms of productivity. Thus, corporations would be more likely to concentrate on the utilization of machines rather than the employment of workers. As a consequence, the increasing absence of jobs may become apparent. Furthermore, the possible threats that overly intelligent computers may bring should not be undermined considering there is no guarantee that machinery will not acquire sentiments and become uncontrollable, leading to a plethora of predicaments for the whole human race. To recapitulate, whilst there are indeed several merits that may come if machinery's intelligence transcends those of humans. It is my belief, whatsoever, that there still exists an array of hazardous outcomes associated with this tendency.