Some educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many opinions suggest that the students only focus on a scientific subject, but forget the vital roles of arts-based subjects such as music, art, and so forth. Further educationalists argue that non-exam, arts-based subjects should be compulsory in secondary school and think that these can help students improve their overall academic performance. I partly agree with this statement since any subject is indispensable. On the one hand, arts-based subjects should be compulsory at school and become a topic to debate for educationists. One argues that there are students who do not want to study these subjects since they are not interested in artistic performance. Therefore, they tend to avoid the lessons and become against the teacher. As a result, arts-based subjects are not appropriate for a few students and make them under more peer pressure. On the flip side of the coin, activities connected to art have a myriad of benefits for pupils. To be more precise, arts and crafts can stimulate their creativity and music can help them learn how to work as a group. For instance, they have to harmony the song in the music lessons, so they need to cooperate to complete the perfect performance by their effort. In addition, artistic lessons can help them more relaxed after hard study in scientific subjects, and express their thinking and feeling properly throughout their work. Consequently, art improves their imagination and creativity adequately and enhances the ability of students to express their emotions and thinking. In conclusion, although there are disadvantages to having to study arts-based subjects, I personally argue that the benefits outweigh the disadvantages.