Some people believe that reading the newspaper is the best way to learn about news, while others believe that the more effective way is through other media. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The newspaper will remain to be an important source of people’s news consumption, even though other media may get the upper hand. Many predict that the print ’s days are numbered due to strong competition from television, radio and the Internet. In terms of popularity, newspaper is statistically down but is not emotionally out. Statistically, it can be said that the print news audiences are dwindling, which means newspaper readership is getting eclipsed by other ways of learning about news. It is a long, slow and painful downward spiral to the point that the newspaper, like vinyl records and film cameras, is a relic for collectors. According to research reports on the news industry, local television is the number one source of news for the majority of people, with digital news coming in second, followed by the radio, and then by the newspaper. One possible explanation why the newspaper is being left far behind is that many people do not see the point in buying a print newspaper if they believe they can get all the news they need elsewhere for free. Nevertheless, for emotional reasons print newspapers will continue to exist for a good while. To begin with, the feeling of a warm newspaper right off the press is one of traditional readers’ favorite moments to begin a regular day. Unlike other ways of delivering news, a print newspaper can be physically held in a reader’s hands, and this is a huge pro for print editions. In addition, newspapers can provide opportunities for longer, more in-depth feature articles that tend to be read in full. Instead of becoming a thing of the past, print newspapers are still widely read and preferred by many audiences. In conclusion, the golden days of print news are gone forever, but nothing is like the feeling of physically holding a newspaper in hands. After all, the different ways of learning about news are not mutually exclusive. Each news media outlet is effective in its own way.