Some people think that computer games are bad for children, while others believe that they are useful. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of computer games and give your opinion

Even though some people insist that children could be addicted to computer games, I agree that computer games are helpful for children to reduce their stress because of the pressure of academic performance, because computer games can also be useful for their academic accomplishment. On the one hand, some people argue that children are more likely to be absorbed in computer games. Since most computer games are made to attract young children, they can lose their self-control ability because they are too young to handle themselves compared to adults. Therefore, when children play computer games, they can’t realize how much time has passed because they fall deeply into the games. Consequently, this leads young kids to severe addiction in some cases. For example, according to an experiment done by Oxford University in 2018, after observing both adults and children who had played computer games for a year, they found that 70% of children were addicted to the games, and the percentage of children who were addicted to the games was 40% higher than the percentage for adults. However, I don’t agree with this idea because if parents can manage their kids not to spend a lot of time playing computer games, there is less possibility for young kids to be addicted to the games. On the other hand, playing computer games is a useful activity for reducing students ’ academic stress. Nowadays, there is so much burden on students because of their academic performance, which leads them to get stressed significantly. In contrast to high pressure on students, they have fewer opportunities to relieve their stress because of their busy schedules for a variety of lessons and studies. To cope with the problem, playing computer games is a good way to address their stress. While playing games, they can move forward, by breaking the stages in the game, which makes them feel a sense of achievement. Eventually, this leads students to reduce their stress, which is from academic performance. For instance, in 2021, one research team interviewed high school students in Seoul and asked them how they dealt with their stress when they get pressured by study. 50% of students said that playing games is the only way to reduce their stress. In my opinion, I agree with this idea because playing computer games will not only reduce stress but also be beneficial for students to increase their concentration on studies. Consequently, playing computer games will be helpful for students to achieve academic success. In conclusion, even though children can get addition to computer games, I agree that the advantages of computer games outweigh the disadvantages because children can relieve their stress while playing games and they can also be useful for students to achieve academic accomplishment.