Some people think that going to a fitness centre regularly is unnecessary. Instead, they believe that combining occasional exercise (such as going for walks) with a balanced diet is enough to stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Regular physical activity is important for a healthy life. It is believed occasional exercise with a good diet is enough to stay healthy rather than spending a ton on fitness centre memberships. In my opinion, some amount of daily activity with a nutritious diet is sufficient for keeping fit. People, especially youngsters, want to get a six-pack body rather than a fit one. Subsequently, they join a gym and resort to various medications to achieve faster results. While they concentrate on short-term results, they forget how these chemicals might affect their body. For example, we have heard the news of a gym instructor succumbing due to the overuse of steroids. Moreover, these memberships are very expensive and cannot be afforded by everyone. Hence, it is important to train with proper knowledge than just following these fitness centres blindly. It is more important to work towards a fit body than a good-looking one. Physical activities like jogging, swimming or dancing on a regular basis can help to break down calories. Also, small changes in our routine life like taking stairs instead of a lift will burn down extra calories.. In addition, a diet with a balance of nutrients will add to overall health. Various studies have shown that a calorie deficit diet with regular exercise followed strictly will prolong life by 5yrs as compared to a sedentary lifestyle. Thus, a healthy lifestyle constitutes regular activity and proper nutrition. To conclude, fitness doesn't necessarily mean working out in a gym. Regular exercise with a balanced diet contributes to healthy living.