Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the importance of university education has received increasing public attention. Some believe that students in university should be allowed to study the subject they are interested in, whereas others assert that they ought to choose subjects that are more promising in the future. In the next paragraphs, both viewpoints will be explored and I will express my perspective on the issue. It is true that in modern society, many individuals opine that the importance of subjects such as science and technology take precedence over others as students who have these professions and knowledge might have a more promising career in the future. Take Taiwan for example, most parents wish their children to study medication and engineering in order to gain more job opportunities as well as earn a more decent salary. Undeniably, in comparison with the aforementioned subjects, other professions such as music or art are often deemed less competitive as people who study them might find it difficult to make enough money in a society like this; parents thus believe their children should choose mainstream subjects in lieu of what they really want. Though it is reasonable for people to anticipate students to study more promising subjects, I believe they should follow their passions. One main issue is that it is inefficient and unfair to compel an individual to study in a field that one does not necessarily interest in, students in this predicament might recoil from failures and be prone to frustration due to the paucity of support for their passions. Another issue is that the meaning of useful subjects is vague, one can not ensure what profession is utterly useful whiles others are not. Though medication has high application value, art is also pivotal in modern-day life. Many art industries have thrived as time changes, there is even art therapy nowadays to alleviate the symptoms of patients who suffered from certain mental illnesses. In conclusion, supporters believe students should study mainstream subjects as they can have a more promising future and a more stable career, while I believe students should study what they truly are interested in and can fully devote themselves to their passions.