Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or diagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

With the advent of technology and ever-growing population, traffic and pollution have become major problems in the modern world. It is proposed that an escalation in the fuel tariff will put an end to these issues. In my opinion, an increase in the petrol price is going to burden the common people rather than solve the main issues. This essay will further substantiate my point of view. To begin with, increasing the cost of petrol will only be effective temporarily. Although it will compel people not to buy new vehicles or restrict their usage, subsequently they will earn more or find other ways to tide over the rise. Moreover, the cost of appreciation will be borne by the common man. In addition, there are varied problems of transportation like improper following of traffic rules and narrower roads which are not going to be addressed by raising gas prices. Subsequently, pollution by factories and waste generation cannot be solved by it either. Hence, a fuel price hike will not solve traffic and pollution problems. Strict government regulations and public awareness will address these troubles. Educating the public regarding carpooling and using public transport as much as possible will go a long way in solving traffic congestion. Likewise, ministry regulations of emission testing and clear demarcation of the residential and industrial areas will help reduce contamination. For example, an initiative by the Delhi government of carpooling helped reduce air deterioration to a greater extent. Therefore, the involvement of the public and higher authorities will solve the issue of traffic and pollution. In conclusion, while a fuel price hike is a temporary solution, the real solution to the woes of traffic and pollution can be solved by government initiative and education of society about these problems.