Some people say that computer games are bad for children by all means; others believe that these games are contributing to children’s development. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There has been a controversy about whether computer games are advantageous or disadvantageous to the growth of children. I think there are positive and negative ways, and they will be explained in the following paragraphs First, they can develop and practice children's imagination. It's commonplace that there are hundreds and thousands of constructive games which allow players to build whatever they want in the games. Therefore, children's imagination can be developed to a large extent on account of the content of those games. Besides, these games are helpful for future jobs as well. Take me as an example. I'm playing a game called Sims 4 currently. In this game, players can build their wished houses by themselves, such as a big mansion. This game affects me largely, not only because of its beautiful scenes but also because it teaches me some basic knowledge of construction. At this point, a good game can help kids to think further and gives them some expectations of future occupations. Second, gaining pleasure. It's expected that due to technological development, diplomas are of the utmost importance nowadays. Hence, in order to attain a good diploma, many children have to study arduous at a young age. Nevertheless, living in a stressful and competitive environment perenially has some negative mental effects, like depression. In this case, games can help children to relax, and give them a safe shelter so they can stay away from reality for a second. On the other hand, games have some demerits as well. For instance, they exert an irreparable impact on our bodies. There is an increase in the myopic rate of children, and video games are considered one of the biggest contributors. Games keep players away from sunlight, and without the protection of sunlight our eyesight can be worsened considerably. In conclusion, I believe the merits of games outstrip their demerits.