Nowadays governments are investing more in public transport such as buses and trains rather than in building new roads. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Transport is a crucial matter in each city that should be taken into consideration significantly because of its major role in our life. This issue could be improved by two specific actions, the construction of new roads and enhancing the public transportation system. Some governments invest more in the latter, as they consider it more beneficial. This essay will discuss the reasons for this investment and its impacts on society. The leading reasons for more investment in this issue include tackling climate change and managing congestion on roads. Firstly, promoting means of transportation will make it the first choice for commuting. In other words, when many destinations are covered with buses, trains and subways, people are unlikely to drive their own autos to get to their destinations. This, in turn, would lead to less fuel consumption and consequently less co2 emission. In this way, governments can tackle climate change and its adverse impacts on the Earth. To illustrate, a survey in Amsterdam revealed the impact of ordering tax on private cars on the co2 emission. This conveyed that the tax caused a substantial decline in gas emissions. Furthermore, once people prefer to commute by public transport rather than private cars, the roads and streets are less congested with traffic. That is why this policy could not only tackle global warming but also is a solution to the heavy traffic. According to the mentioned benefits, I believe that this investment is an efficient one that has positive effects on both city and its residents. This way, people can save more money and become more healthy. By using cars, owners have to pay a lot for fuels and particularly maintenance costs. It is apparent that fares of buses, subways and other means are more economically affordable. What is more, burning less petrol and other fuels results in less air pollution, which is blamed for many major health issues namely Asthma, lung cancer and blood pressure. These are the facts why I consider this development advantageous. In conclusion, governments find investing in transportation facilities more efficient than constructing and expanding routes due to its effects on gas emissions and traffic. In my opinion, it is to our benefit to make this decision since it influences our spending and health.