Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit these places?

Indeed, nowadays the sum of visitors to museums and historical areas has been reduced and the majority of attendance consists of foreigners compared to locals. This essay will discuss why the local population is not interested in exploring these places and what steps can be considered to alleviate this potential problem. Several reasons related to the reduced figure of local domestic tourists to museums and ancient sites are clear. Ticket prices are often too high for residents of the area which is one of the main factors for a declining number of local visitors. For instance, the entry fee to a Pakistan museum is more than the average earning of a worker in the same country which is unaffordable for citizens. Another prime issue is that foreign nationalities are generally more educated compared to the domestic population so outsiders know the meanings and value of historic artefacts considerably more. Thus, these reasons are mainly responsible for less attraction for inhabitants. However, several actions can be taken to attract domestic tourism to ancient artefacts. Firstly, concerned authorities should make entry to such places affordable. This can be achieved by reducing the cost of tickets or providing free days for entering historical spots. Another simple solution to attract the local community is that government could run awareness campaigns for city residents to educate them about the importance of their history, national identity and historical point. This would definitely raise their interest and they will observe these points more closely. In conclusion, although regional societies are losing interest in knowing their origin, a number of solutions like a reduction in entrance fees of museums and old palaces along with educational programs for the local communities may bring obvious benefits in terms of rising local visitors' attendance at such places.