Older people often choose to spend money on themselves (e.g. on holidays) rather than save money for their children after retirement. Is this a positive or negative development?

Retirees are seen spending money on themselves like going on holidays instead that saving money for their children after their post-retirement. It depends on the financial stability of the family whether to decide and in my opinion, that is a positive development. To begin with, they should economical some money for their children. Because of their children's maturity, they must have an amount of money to provide for their children. For example, annual tuition fees for children to go to school, school supplies and food for children. Moreover, they also have to use the money to buy household items or prepare for emergencies such as the illness of family members and also buy food for their family. However, they should also use that money for their relaxation. On the other hand, seniors should use their money for what they want. They can use their pension to go on a vacation for themselves because they have spent their life trying to work and earn a lot of money so now is the right time for them to enjoy life by travelling or going out. In addition, the fact that they use the pension for themselves also helps their children. For instance, not giving money to their children helps them not to be dependent on their parents and makes them more independent and mature by going to work or finding a job for themselves so they earn money and use their own money. In conclusion, they are more likely to spend their money on themselves than on their families and make sure there is enough money for their children.