Some people think that big international sporting events are not worthwhile for the host country, do you agree or disagree?

Every four to five years international sporting events are held where athletes and sports people from all over the world gather in a single place. Some people are of the opinion that such sporting events are not profitable and worthwhile for the host country. I think such events prove to be helpful in building the reputation of the host country and helping boost the economy. I will elaborate on my opinion below. These international sporting events are looked upon by all the nations on our planet, so, it is an opportunity for the host nation, to conduct these events in a fair and peaceful manner. Doing so helps in building a new image in people's minds of our nation and it displays the actual strength of our nation in all aspects like Management and Leadership. This will lead to other nations valuing our opinion even more than before. It is also favourable for our players as they will have an advantage with respect to familiarity with the weather and grounds. The other big advantage is the boost to the economy both locally and nationally. For example, tourists coming to watch the tournament will need a place to stay, and food to eat which will help the local vendors. Big events like this require a lot of raw materials for construction which will help businesses of local as well as national vendors. Tourists will visit some of the famous places in our country which will also help in revenue generation. Economies such as Dubai which are highly dependent on tourists have more advantages from such events. In conclusion, big sporting events like the Olympics and World Cup help in building the nation's image and boost the economy, especially the economies of nations which are dependent on tourists.