Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Certain jobs required a lot of physical strength or mental strength thus it is almost impossible for a person to carry out those tasks until they reach the retirement age of 65. Although the government has set a general rule that everyone's retirement age should be 65, some people think it is unfair to set such age limits without even considering the worker`s occupation type. In my perspective, I completely agree with the above statement because if certain jobs carry out till the age of 65, they might end up with different types of health issues. In addition, those types of workers should get their pension earlier. Firstly, certain jobs involve a lot of physical activities. For example, most miners work almost 15 hours per day and they hardly take breaks until they managed to find what they came in for. A recent survey done at Melbourne University revealed that the average miner loses almost 01kg in weight and 4,000 calories per day. Secondly, some jobs need a lot of thinking and need to use their mental strength to their peak. For instance, scientists and researchers need to find solutions and new discoveries on a day-to-day basis. Finally, we could come across jobs where you might have a risk of losing your life as well. Army personnel are one of the key examples where their job is to protect people and their country even by putting their life on the edge. Therefore it is important for some workers to have their retirements and to receive a pension a lot earlier. Implementing different retirement ages could be very challenging. Some employees might feel that their jobs are not appreciated by the government and thus are being treated unfairly. Therefore it is important to have a clear structure on why retirement age differs from one job to another and to produce clear statistics about physical and mental involvement in each occupation so everyone gets a clear understanding. In conclusion, some jobs are almost impossible to carry out till they turn 65 years old. In my opinion, despite the difficulty in categorization, it is important for the government to value their efforts and their commitment without risking their lives.