Some people think that fresh water should be freely available, while others believe governments should tightly control the use of fresh water as it is limited resource. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People are divided over the opinion that there should be no restriction on the use of fresh water and others think that fresh water usage should be tightly controlled by the government as it is a limited resource. I will discuss both views and then provide my opinion. Firstly I will discuss why it should be controlled. As it is a limited resource, there is a possibility of freshwater resources being completely drained. If this happens there will be no water available for future generations to drink and their survival will be impossible. With the increasing population, the need for drinking water will increase and this will deplete the resource even further. Knowing that fresh water is freely available people tend to use it for unnecessary things like washing cars, homes and many other things. Controlling the usage of fresh water will avoid this wastage. Fresh water is a basic necessity for any human being to survive and it should be available freely to everyone. Many day-to-day activities are dependent on the availability of fresh like cooking, drinking and so on. We cannot calculate the exact amount of fresh water required by every individual and some people need more water than required by an average person. So restricting the amount of fresh water for individuals will result in people avoiding performing basic things like drinking writer and bathing which can lead to new problems. Agriculture is highly dependent on water and if sufficient rains do not occur, many times farmers use fresh water for irrigation. So limiting it will also have an impact on farming In conclusion, I would like to say that, freshwater should not be controlled as many things depend on it and it is impossible to calculate the exact amount needed by everyone. At the same time, people should be made aware of the wastage of water and should be encouraged to avoid its unnecessary use.