The government should take responsibility for their actions to the environment. To what extent do you agree?

In this age of change,Environmental Pollution has become one of the major concern. Currently there is a debate whether liability must be taken by the Government against their steps towards the environment. From my perspective i agree with this view. Admittedly, increase in population and industrial revolution lead to range of requirments. First of all, More people means more space required for living. In addition to that every adult to be given a job to meet his/her family needs. These are the major reasons for the deforestation of the environment. Example, I live in Chennai. 100 years ago Chennai city's total area was 10KMs diameter currently it is 20KMS which is increased by 100%. Government has done their job to accomodate migrants from the same state and from other states to live in the City. Instead of this, If authorities were planned the city expecting the copious population elevation and need of Industries 100 years back, cutting of trees and construction of building the houses on the river might have been avoided. For Instance, Due to buiding houses on the lake and rivers, whenever it rains those houses are inandated with rain water. For these reasons only, Government should take responsibility for their actions to the environment. To conclude, Although i would concede that Infrastructure extension is the need of the hour,it could have been avoided with proper planning by the government officials which will in turn stop polluting the atmosphere,cutting of trees and drenching of rivers and lakes.