Some believe that people are naturally born leaders while others feel that leadership skills can develop. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Leadership is an attribute which makes people stand out and prominent. The ability to be able to lead is a God given blessing, according to some. To others, anyone can excel at this skill. In my opinion, not all leaders are ‘born leaders ’ and various factors including society, circumstances, upbringing, contribute towards a personality which then comes out as a leader. Those who advocate the idea of naturally born leaders tend to refer this ability to genetics and family background. They claim that bloodline had a deep impact over a person’s foresight and decision making tendency. Hence, leadership can only be attained by those who have witnessed their family members leading, not otherwise. On the contrary, the other school of thought solely ignore the above narrative and are of the opinion that with the help of continuous learning and hard work, one can develop leadership skills. They propagate that influencing is not related to the parents an individual is born to, it is rather an ability than anyone can achieve. In real life examples, leaders like Malcolm X, Che Guevara, Khumeni, and many were ordinary people who belonged to the general class of society yet they managed to lead and bring about a change. To sum up, based on observations and experiences, it can be established that leadership is not an innate ability. People can be good leaders if they learn from personal and others’ experiences.