Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or diagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

The increasing number of land transport has caused tremendous environmental pollution and traffic congestion. The globe is rapidly suffering from noise and air pollution produced by large numbers of cars. Hence, therefore to lessen these issues, some people are of the opinion that the best possible way is to hike the price of fuels. However, I am against this view and I am in the perspective that the number of vehicles will rise irrespective of the price of fuel unless government intervents in some logical and doable policies and regulations. This is a personal perspective that hiking the price of petrol would rather widen the gap between poor and rich. This is because the wealthier persons will have no impact on the fuel price and hence they don't mind fueling cars and purchasing new ones. Whereas on other hand, already being in a disadvantaged group, they will lack all the luxury lives. Therefore, instead of raising the price of energy, the government should formulate policies that benefit not only the environment but also the public. For instance, such as deploying more public transport with better timing and adequate seats. This will not only reduces the traffic congestion but also highly benefit middle-income class family. Another measure government could take is issuing a driving license to a maximum of two in the family. It means in a household, there should be only two cars at the highest number otherwise it will go against the law if the household owns more than 2 cars. Another option state could do is encourage people to walk or go cycling for a short destination by constructing lavish, wide, and scenic footpaths.