Universities should provide students with the skills they will require in order to succeed at their future jobs. How far do you agree or disagree with the above opinion? What are some of the job skills that employers look for in new employees?

Nowadays, a university education plays an important role to secure a job. By providing specialised skills to pupils along with secondary interpersonal abilities, education institutes can help students to attain a job. In my opinion, teaching specific skills can be more beneficial for a student as compared to learning about irrelevant topics. Below are the two reasons stated to support this belief. To start with, an employer is in search of talents who are highly skilled in their area of expertise. While students are being taught all courses in their academic programmes, many of those are unnecessary for their future job roles. For example, in India, a student with a computer science major is being taught the fundamentals of mechanical engineering, which will be of no importance for him to be placed in a firm. Therefore, teaching irrelevant subjects to university students is a waste of time and resources. Moreover, apart from primary skills required for a job, other soft skills like collaboration, communication, management, and leadership skills help the student not only secure a job but also achieve excellence in their profession. Higher education institutes can play a huge role by facilitating pupils with the aforementioned interpersonal skills. For instance, employers will prefer their prospective employees with better communication skills and highly efficient primary skills. Therefore, academic organisations should prepare students not only with primary skills but also with soft skills. To conclude, employers are looking for extremely intelligent and multi-talented workers for their organisation. Hence, teaching the required skills to the student in universities will increase their chances to attain a job after their academics.