Employers should give their employees 4 weeks holiday each year so that they can do their job better. To what extent do you agree with this suggestion?

In certain parts of the world, companies are legally obliged to allow their staff a month of annual leave. In other countries, workers are not entitled to any paid holiday whatsoever. I consider that offering employees time off is beneficial both to the organisation and the individual concerned. This approach has significant advantages for businesses. When members of staff are able to take holidays, they are calmer and more tranquil, leading to a better atmosphere in the workplace. Conflict and disagreement are far less probable amongst colleagues who have had a reasonable break. Perhaps even more importantly, workers who are fully rested tend to be more productive and this obviously has a positive impact on profits. They will usually have higher energy levels and the ability to put in extra effort. Finally, employees are unlikely to take days off sick, which also means that the firm they work for will be more successful and prosperous. Clearly, having adequate holiday periods will allow workers to avoid serious illnesses and diseases, especially stress-related ones. This policy also has positive implications for individuals. Workers given holiday will be happier and will feel fulfilled. They are likely to have an excellent attitude towards the life they lead, having spent quality time with loved-ones and having rested and relaxed sufficiently. This may have wider, societal repercussions: having more contented workers may well lead to a society which is more stable and whose members feel rewarded and valued. Overall, there is absolutely no doubt that offering staff a considerable amount of paid vacation makes sense. It has positive consequences for workers, companies and the wider community. I wish policy-makers around the globe would realise this and introduce legislation in every country making a period of annual leave compulsory.