It’s important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Children should be empowered by knowledge to understand what are the things, that are good or bad, which are affecting to the society in positive or negatively from their childhood. Although, there are many ways to teach them right or wrong, some people believe punishment is the best option for it. In my point of view, I totaly disagree with this view since it will damage their personality and harm to the mental health. In this essay I will discuss why I am not standing with this opinion and what are punishments parents and teachers can be used. Although, punishments help some extent to teach the gap among right and wrong at the teenage, their personality may be affected in badly. Once, children are punished infront of others for their misbehave, they are more vulnerable to isolate which meanse, social phobia and refrain from group activities. They think, their opinion and support might not be required by others since, they were punished. For instant, majority of the state schools in Sri Lanka still use punishments for students. As a results, a number of students have their personality issues. Punishments negatively affect to child’s mental health,which leads to depression, anxiety and learning dissability. Infact, according to the research findings in 2020, which was conducted by Oxford University, more than 60% of total childhood mental disorders related to the punishments in their early age. Hence, parents and teachers have a responsibility to think twice before punishing them. In order to teach merits and demerits for their children, parents and teachers can use different methods which are less harmful such as, restrict TV,phones and Internet access for some time period if they misbehave. Secondly, they can be educated about the consequences if they do wrong. Infact, social negligence and being into prison. In conclusion, how to filter good and bad in elementary stage is hard, but it should be taught. However,I completely disagree to punishments since its negative impact on personality and mental condition.