Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy, and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Surging college fees and decreasing employment opportunities have brought up the thought among the public of eliminating non-practical lectures, including arts, philosophy and history in universities. Many people believe that by teaching only practical lectures, the pupil's chances of getting a job will increase accordingly, while others are of the opposite opinion. As far as I am concerned, artistic subjects are equally important for the overall development of learners, thus those subjects should not be removed from the selection of courses. In the first place, learners can learn a valuable set of skills in specialities such as philosophy. They become active thinkers who learn how to solve problems, rather than passive learners who memorise facts and other people's ideas. Students become more proficient at critical and moral thinking, argumentation and debate. Furthermore, take artistic subjects as another example, learning arts could inspire students' senses of creativity and imagination. Instead of being stuck in a rut, pupils can unleash their potential to the utmost. Without these programs, many pupils could lose their chances of discovering their interests and talents, consequently, they will fail to pursue jobs in those fields eventually. Practical courses like science, engineering, and business are undoubtedly important for our society, especially in today's modern era, with the rapid development of technology, scientific growth plays a significant role. However, for those people who indulge themselves in these fields, if they also have basic training and knowledge of philosophy or arts, their ability of logic and analytical thinking would be improved and as a result, they are more likely to be able to solve problems, create initiatives, identify bias and avoid major pitfalls as they progress through their careers. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly disagree with the statement that only practical courses should be taught in educational institutions. Even though they are crucial and vital in order to find a job, with understanding and knowledge of other fields, students can develop a wide background capability which will absolutely benefit them enormously in later life.