Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Social media has a tremendous impact on the younger generation today. While some believe that it has limited the ability of an adolescent to maintain personal relations as they limit themselves behind four walls of their home. Others debate that social media sites have brought people from different countries together, sharing their lives with each other. In my opinion, the negative impact is greater than its benefits, as I will explain. Firstly lets us elaborate on what personal relations are, the ability to connect with others face to face, knowing their strengths and weakness, which is possible when you spend time with each other. It brings out the ability to share and care and makes a person a better human. Therefore the younger generation can learn more as they share experiences with one another, which is possible only through a personal connection. On the other hand, a few of the masses believe that online connection has bought people of diverse cultures together, this is true to some extent, however, meeting people online can be dangerous to personal information. Statistics state that youngsters are prone to depression, leading to suicidal cases on account of online blackmailing, bridge of data eg accounts getting hacked. The generation today prefers confining itself to the four walls of their home, which lowers their confidence to face the real world. Social media does have a few positives in bringing people together, however, we cannot neglect the power of creating relations on a personal level. The younger generation will need to step into the real world and face real-life circumstances which require a personal connection. Therefore in my view, an online connection cannot replace a one-to-one connection.