Nowadays, more people would rather purchase food than cook at home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In today’s world, an increasing number of people opt for food that is available to be consumed instead of home -cooked one. Although this trend brings about several merits and demerits, I personally believe that the demerits are more significant. On the one hand, purchasing food, instead of cooking at home, has certain upsides. To begin with, it cannot be denied that eating out is fast and convenient. This is mainly because it takes no time to prepare and cook when people buy food from a restaurant. Therefore, they might have more time to spend on other activities such as taking a nap, watching TV or chatting with friends. Moreover, one can have an opportunity to try various dishes which may be impossible if one eats at home. In other words, there are several foreign dishes that are probably available to eat in restaurants. For instance, if people want to eat raw dishes, they may have to go to some Japanese restaurants for preparing raw fish requires special cooking skills. On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that the downsides of consuming readily-made food rather than home -cooked meals are more significant. First, the environment can be damaged by the trash thrown away as one orders food to one ’s house. The main reason is that when having take-away food, consumers usually use plastic packaging which is likely to take centuries to decompose. As a consequence, soil and water could be contaminated with used plastic packages flowing on the surface of water or lying deep down in the soil. Second, having readily-made meals too often could have negative effects on health. This is mainly because they may not contain enough nutrition for human beings, which also causes sickness. To illustrate this point, some people are eating too much fast food that makes them suffer from diabetes and even heart diseases. Nowadays, more people would rather purchase food than cook at home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? In conclusion, while purchasing food instead of cooking at home may have several benefits in terms of, I personally believe that its drawbacks regarding the environment and consumers’ health are weightier.