Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, it is widely believed that the younger generation ought to partake in volunteer community service projects. I personally think that the upsides of this trend are weightier than the downsides. On the one hand, there are several demerits of young people doing volunteering work. To begin with, the youth may not have enough time to do all the tasks. Most teenagers now are students, which means they also have their own assignments to fulfill. As a consequence, these important tasks may be left unfinished if too much time is allocated to volunteer activities. Moreover, participating in charity work may put lots of pressure on the participants. One can easily be criticized for a small mistake when taking part in this kind of work no matter how much value they have created. On the other hand, I strongly believe that the good points of this trend are more significant. On an individual level, the younger generation could become more mature. In other words, they can be a better version of themselves. For example, helping the blind or elderly could help them to be more patient, which is a crucial quality for them in their future life. Moreover, it is a valuable opportunity for the youth to heighten their sense of responsibility as they have to be accountable for every single action that they take. On a social level, the fact that the younger generation takes part in community service activities can have beneficial effects on society. Generally, these young people are indeed enthusiastic, so a lot can be done with their help, especially when there is a problem. To illustrate this point, in the Covid-19 pandemic in Vietnam, the young volunteers play an indispensable role in distributing medications and food to people in areas which are isolated by the virus. In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are still several drawbacks when young people do unpaid volunteer work. However, it is my firm belief that the positive effects of this trend are more considerable than the negative ones. ​​