In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new houses. Some people think that people can choose to build houses in their own styles instead of building them the same as the old house style in local areas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s modern society, there are several restrictions on the style of houses in cities. However, it is believed by many people that they should have the right to build their houses in the architectural style of their choice. I personally believe that the merits of this trend are weightier than the demerits. On the one hand, by not following rules coming from authority about building houses, the traditional and cultural values may be ruined. A good example of this is Hoi An Ancient Town in Vietnam. If one decides to construct their own house in a different design, the surrounding scenery might badly be destroyed. When this happens on a large scale, the values which play a fundamental role in forming this town may be lost. On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that the benefits of a diversity in housing are more significant. To begin with, it is more comfortable for residents who can live in a house of their own design. This means that it might be easier for them to enjoy their lives to the fullest. Moreover, the construction costs may be lower when there is no restriction on the style of the building. As a result, it is more affordable for people, especially those with low income, to own a house. This is because they can opt for the design that suits their needs and budget. In conclusion, although there are certain downsides when houses are constructed without limitations in style, I firmly believe that the upsides are much more considerable.