People can eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

At the present time, some foods in other regions become more and more popular among people. While this trend has certain detrimental effects, I personally think that the beneficial effects are more considerable. On the one hand, eating foods from other regions can have some downsides. To begin with, it costs more money to eat food from other areas than local food. This is mainly because the prices of this kind of food include transportation fees over a long distance as well as taxes for importing. For example, cherries cannot be planted in some areas, so when people want to eat them, they have to buy them at higher prices. In addition, eating food from other regions may have negative effects on their health. The main reason is that when they deliver food for days, some food can be spoiled. Also, some foods may contain a lot of preservatives which are harmful to consumers’ health. On the other hand, I personally believe that the upsides of eating foods from other regions are more significant. The first advantage is that people can have access to a wide variety of food. For example, blueberries, a kind of fruit planted in temperate zones, can be bought everywhere. Therefore, consumers may easily have a rich and balanced diet that contains various nutritious foods. The second advantage is that when people buy some food from other regions, they can help develop the economy. This is mainly because local farmers and food producers need to improve their product quality to increase competitiveness. Besides, when people expand their business model, they can create many jobs for many workers. In conclusion, while eating foods from other regions can have several drawbacks, I am firmly convinced that the benefits are more considerable.