One way to solve the problem of congestion on the road is to increase the tax on public vehicles.How could this alleviate congestion? What other measures can you suggest to deal with congestion in cities?

Although a multitude of problems bothers urban citizens, traffic is the most troublesome issue faced by them in their routine daily life. Several folks believe that there is no other way except rising the taxation on individual bikes and cars to retrench the soaring number of vehicles on roads. However, I do not agree with this opinion. Firstly, I will discuss why levying additional cess on nonpublic conveyances will not serve the purpose followed by ways to solve this annoying perplexity. To begin with, augmenting tax on people's mode of transport will fail to decrease rush on the city roads. The number of individuals desiring to have their separate mode of transport is on a constant rise and on its way to peak despite the prices of four-wheelers which are hiked up by companies owing to the scarcity of raw materials. This can be attributed to fears instilled by the ongoing COVID pandemic which firmly reinstated the need for social distancing to avoid gatherings. Moreover, the halt of buses and trains because of lockdowns issued by the government further contributed to the increasing need. To illustrate, Hyundai and India have reported a massive boom in the current year, due to changes in customers' mindsets, who treat health as the utmost priority and would not hesitate to buy a new vehicle despite escalating prices and levies. On the other hand, instead of excess fees, many other measures can be implemented to effectively wane this predicament. Firstly, to develop parallel and link roadways by enhancing the existing infrastructure resulting in the redistribution of motor cars resulting in reduced congestion. For example, Hyderabad witnessed a significant decline in the frequency of stagnation after improving the linking network and laying contemporary flyovers. In addition to this, several implementations of even and odd number schemes in Delhi also proved fruitful. Hence, it is up to the native authorities to choose which technology suits them best. In conclusion, imposing higher taxes will additionally burden the public. Therefore, lawmakers should consider state-of-the-art ideas to downsize mentioned arduous plight and find a possible solution in discussion with citizen charters