With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media is growing at a tremendous speed with new and innovative apps being introduced every day. With the rise in technology and power of the internet, news spread faster around the world. What happens in one part of the world becomes known to the other. Though it has some disadvantages, the advantages outweigh them. In a way, social media helps us keeping Change the form of the verb keep show examples up to date with the happenings and trends around the globe. For instance, the sudden demise of the Queen of England recently at her Balmoral home, was known around the world within minutes after the royal palace declared it. Millions of people sent their condolences to the royal family using various forms of social media within just an hour. In situations such as wildfires, social media has helped save lives. Some people saw the news of approaching wildfires and others heard it from their loved ones through social media. Thus, the promptness of social media is very beneficial. However, sometimes, the social media is misused by some to spread false news. In some cases, such fake news is shared without verifying the details or truthfulness. Which can prove catastrophic. That being said, at times, social media is also used to spread unnecessary interpretations of certain news which creates controversies. In conclusion, social media can be used positively or negatively while spreading the news. It is upon individuals as to what message they want to share and what not to share. But according to me, the spread of news using social media does more good than harm.