Some people think that coins and paper money will vanish in a few years. We will only use plastic cards or some other form of electronic currency. Is this a positive or negative development.

Advances in modern technology have allowed us to change traditional trading systems over the course of time. some believe that physical money will disappear in the upcoming era and other forms of payment mode will be used in everyday life. I strongly opine on this trend as, not all individuals are well versed with electronic transactions and also, coins and paper are environment-friendly. To begin with, the substitution of the current currency system with another will be difficult to cope with. This is due to the fact that not every individual is educated enough to understand an online transaction method. For instance, senior citizens and illiterate people will rely on others to carry out a simple payment. This can lead to an elevated rate of cyber crimes. Furthermore, an electronic currency will require an Internet connection, upgraded phones or laptops. Impoverished people cannot afford such amenities. Thus, due to the dependency of such a method on various factors, this can not be adapted by all. Another reason to stand against this drift is that, plastic cards shouldn’t be considered as currency in the forthcoming years since it is not eco-friendly. Production of a huge lot of plastic cards will require an enormous amount of the same to be made which can put an extra burden on the surroundings. On the contrary, paper notes are easy to recycle and we melt the metals to form other coins. Whereas, opposite is true in case with plastic cash as recycling of such material is not possible. Hence, it can prove to be detrimental to the environment. To conclude, technical advancement has touched every aspect of our life, but diversity in fund transfers and methods of payment will force us to summon challenges which can not be handled.