These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods of time, either to find a job or to study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Over the past few years, we have seen an increase in immigration around the world. People migrate to other countries for various reasons. It can be either for studies, for work or to be closer to family. There are certainly many benefits of migration but there are also some disadvantages. To begin with, the intention of most people moving abroad is to have a better standard of living. Studies and research show that the general trend is to migrate from developing countries to developed countries or from one developed country to another. The advantage for the students who migrate is that they get access to a world-class education. Similarly, working professionals who move abroad get better employment opportunities. Furthermore, developed countries usually have better healthcare and education facilities. For example, Canada, which is a developed country has a universal healthcare system which is funded through taxes. Now, as far as disadvantages are concerned, some students as well as working professionals who move alone without their families, tend to feel lonely. They find it difficult and also usually take some time to get accustomed to the culture of the new country. In addition, for professionals, at times the educational degree from their home country is not valid in the foreign country and hence they require to obtain another degree in the new country to progress in their career. For instance, in the medical field, in most countries, you need to study again in order to practice in a new country, if you do not have a degree from that country. Moreover, racism is another serious issue that immigrants face either at their workplace or outside. In conclusion, there are both pros and cons of moving to a foreign country. Even though you get ample opportunities, you need to work extra hard to establish yourself in a foreign country.