Nowadays people waste a lot of food that brought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

It is undeniable that a substantial amount of meals is wasted daily. In my opinion, there are several causes of this growing trend, but measures could certainly be taken to tackle the problem. Certain problems are often associated with consumerism and the price of the foods. The main issue which is dependent on socioeconomic conditions occurs in developed countries and territories. In other words, in the 21st century, we face more advertisements which fascinate people to buy more than they can, for example, McDonald's meals are promoted through various channels in prime time viewing in the US, and these mouth-watering ads give the American citizens a hard sell. Moreover, restaurants and ready meals from supermarkets are very accessible and cheap. In this case, inhabitants prefer to order more grub, as they are not so expensive. However, there are various steps that governments could take to tackle these problems. To begin with, the price of takeaways can be increased in order to decrease the number of orders. With this solution, not only do people order food economically, but also they may not dine out as much as before. Furthermore, regulations and policies may be useful on this occasion, for instance, the municipality fines restaurants where they throw away a distinctive amount of food each day. As a result, restaurants regard a minimum size of meal for their customers which lead to a reduction in wasted grub. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for food overconsumption, and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.