Today family members do not eat meals together. Why does this happen? Is this a positive or negative development Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In today's busy world, sometimes people hardly find time to eat in their schedule, let alone find time to eat with the family. Working hours are increasing, lunch breaks are getting shorter, and study and tutoring time is increasing. This has various impacts on humans most of which are negative. To begin with, there are various reasons why this is happening. During a working weekday, breakfast and dinner are usually the meals that a family can have together. However, due to different office and school timings, having breakfast together becomes difficult. Also, Professionals working especially in multinational companies tend to work late and hence they have dinner later as compared to their family. Giving my own example, I usually get home around ten at night from work and have my dinner alone as other family members usually finish their meals by then. Most of the time, the same is also the case during weekends wherein family members are involved in different extracurricular activities. In my opinion, this is a negative impact of the fast-paced world. People spend less and less time with their families. Earlier, having meals together as a family was a platform for interacting and sharing. Members would share about their day and any new events in each other's lives. In other words, meals used to be a bonding session for the family. Only a few such sessions happen nowadays. People are seldom involved in each other's life. This has also reduced the feeling of belongingness and increased the feeling of loneliness amongst people. In conclusion, the increase in competition, both in education as well as work life has led to families spending less time together and sometimes even drifting apart.