Nowadays young people spend too much of their free time in shopping malls. Some people fear that this may have negative effects on young people and the society they live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, teenagers tend to spend the majority of their leisure time in huge shopping complexes. Some people hold the view that this trend is creating a negative impact on both, the population and the community, I firmly agree with this notion because of the following arguments. Several downsides related to this negative trend of wasting hours in shopping places are clear. One obvious problem is that teenagers are becoming brand conscious so they tend to waste huge sums of money purchasing products from these international companies. Due to this, throw-away culture is significantly increased which has detrimental effects on society. As individuals continuously buy and throw products, the problem of trash and landfill is considerably rising. Furthermore, it seems that when the young generation spends too much day in shopping areas, they become more fashionable and try to remain updated. The problem arises when they are not able to afford expensive fashion wear. Consequently, they may develop depression which has severe detrimental effects on mental health. In addition, if young individuals only buy items from malls, the sale of small retailers will reduce significantly. Because of this, there are chances that the whole society will suffer. In conclusion, while adolescents are spending too much extra hour visiting and buying retail items from multi-shop complexes, this phenomenon is creating potential problems for teenage individuals and societies in terms of pollution and mental depression.