Many people find it difficult to speak in front of and to present to anaudience. It is believed that this skill should be taught in school. Why is this important? To what extent do you agree or disagree with it?

In the modern society, talking and presenting in public is a key skill to have. However, majority of adults still struggle with it, therefore it is believed that it is a requirement to learn in school. This essay will outline the importance of being taught this skill in school and how I fully agree with this statement. Public speaking is a valuable skill which will help in any career. Being inadequate in this skill can lead to lack of confidence in a social setting, which can further lead to social anxiety. Tackling this in school will allow students to work on their skills in a safer environment and be able to have good feedback from their teachers to improve. Also, learning from a young age, the skill will become innate to them and be able to perform exceedingly in any environment. The ability to speak in front of an audience not only improves their confidence but gives more job opportunities. People will apply to more jobs in a bigger work force and elite jobs because they know who they are and confident on what they can say and present. For example, a student who has been going to a debating society for 5 years will have found her way of thinking and would know how to present ideas clearly. Therefore, she will be able articulate better in interviews. Hence why it is important to learn from a young age. To summarise, I believe that public speaking is essential in this modern society, which should be implemented in schools. This will help more young adults to gain valuable skills to accelerate in working life.