Some countries spend a lot of money on making it easier to use bicycles in cities, why ? is this the best way to solve traffic problems?

Nowadays many counties spend an ample amount of money on infrastructure to utilize bicycles conveniently in urban areas. Although some believe that it helps to decrease traffic congestion, there are conflicting schools of thought, however, I will elaborate on my opinion regarding the above statement. First and foremost, if the local authorities take action on the development of the facilities it is conducive to the public. Permitting citizens to cycle helps them to stay physically active, which will benefit their health. For instance, as Sri Lanka went through a fuel crisis in recent months certain sections of people started to commute to work and school by cycle. Moreover, in a country such as the Netherlands, a majority of people utilize cycles as their primary mode of transportation. The Dutch government spends a lot of money on the development of infrastructure for the locals to cycle. To a certain extent, this may help decrease the traffic congestion in the country. Secondly, the discussion on the drawbacks of the utilization of bicycles would be that if the local authorities are encouraging the citizens to cycle, the bicycle body parts should be widely available for investment. For example, due to the bankruptcy of Sri Lanka, the government restricted 300 items to be imported into the country. With this rationale people are reluctant to invest in bicycles, therefore this will not allow solving the traffic problems. In conclusion, my point of view of the above statement is that if governments are adamant to solve the traffic problems, they should provide better facilities for public transport which will immensely improve road congestion.