Some people believe arts such as painting and music cannot directly improve quality of peoples life, so that governments money should be spent on other things. How far do you agree or disagree?

Some section of public feel that quality of life is not enhanced when the government invests funds on arts like painting and music instead it should be spent on other entities. I agree to this statement to a greater extent with adequate supportive reasons stated below. First and foremost, healthcare is an important sector which cannot be ignored. During its initial days, Covid-19 had posed a challenge to the entire globe. The government was struggling to contain the disease due to poor medical infrastructure and less healthcare professionals thus are tight patient care. Hence, investing on infrastructure to establish more health clinics or hospitals as well as funding medical education to attract more medical staffs will help tackle the problem in near future. This will inturn create many employment opportunities and thereby quality of life will get better. Secondly, arts is significantly smaller segment, hence, the revenue generated by music or paintings is substantially less.  Employment opportunities produced are also significantly lesser when compared to other sectors like healthcare and innovation. Lower revenue indicates its poor performance. Investing in such field can be a loss to the government as it fails to yield adequate profits. For example, at any given point in time hospitals will have more customers when compared to an art museum. However, arts cannot be ignored and require adequate government support through funds to help flourish around. There are still a lot of people in the society who make a living by composing music and painting. Artists have improved their standard of living by practising various forms of art. For example, M F Hussain who was a well-renowned artist from India received backing from the Indian government financially for promoting art. To summarise, it is realised that healthcare requires major financial aid from the authority when compared to arts due to the emergence of the pandemic. More fund means the availability of modern infrastructure and health care technology to the general public to tackle the disease.