Some people think climate change has a negative impact on business, while others think that it provides more business options. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is almost undeniable at this point that climate change might be the most dangerous threat that humanity has to encounter and will need to be addressed immediately. Even though an abrupt change in climate around the world might force people to adjust their way of living and therefore, give new ideas for businesses to come up with new products. I believe that in long term the impacts that climate change has on both people and businesses around the globe will trump its benefit and I will elaborate more on this in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, climate change does not just mean that the storms will be more severe or there will be floods more often. climate includes the rise in overall temperatures and sea levels around the world. A slight change in the environment could potentially harm numerous animal species and natural habitats and completely change those areas forever. Lands that are suitable for farming and growing crops might be affected by this environmental issue, combined with unpredictable weather could halt the production of raw outputs that will be used in producing goods later on. Moreover, with climate change becoming more severe, a lot of areas will be underwater in the future which will force people to lose their homes and way of living. And as a result, they are likely to lose their ability to spend on goods and products which in long term will lead the economy into a recession and negatively affect the business. Most importantly, Unsustainable business practices and one of the main factors that help accelerate climate change. Hence, the faster businesses try to come up with new goods by using immoral practices and destroying natural resources, and emitting pollution and toxic chemicals to the environment, the more severe climate disasters are going to be. It is a vicious cycle that needs to be broken by the cooperation of people, governments, and most importantly the businesses themselves. On the other hand, businesses can still be benefited from these changes in the environment which will eventually lead to people having to adjust their lifestyles. For example, air pollution and PM 2.5 problems have been one of the most prominent issues for Thai people over the past 5 years. Because of this issue, a lot of people were forced to wear masks when going outside even before COVID and air purifier quickly became the default electronic appliance that every house needs to have which in a way, helped businesses to thrive and quickly innovate better products for the market to keep up with the high demand. In conclusion, it is possible that climate change will give an idea for people to invent new products and have positive impacts on business but this tiny advantage is comparable to catastrophic results that climate change can bring upon us.