Older people often choose to spend money on themselves (e.g. on holidays) rather than save money for their children after retirement. Is this a positive or negative development?

Retirees often opt to splash money on themselves, especially on holidays rather than save their pension fund for their sons and daughters. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and drawbacks of this development and express my opinion in the summary. On the one hand, the main disadvantage of this approach is that money that spends unnessacerily on holidays can be used for emergency purposes, particularly when their children are in need. For example, during Covid 19, most employees lost their livelihood due to redundancies and company layoffs. During that crucial situation, fathers who had savings in the bank supported their children to set up new businesses, which helped families to run smoothly. Another disadvantage is old people can save that money for their grandchildren's education, which is obviously helpful for their children if their grandfather contributes to their grandchildren'sstudies. On the other hand, the primary advantage of this development is that it helps them to be healthy and contented. Being in good health and happiness is imperative for the old who is retired. For instance, if they are having good health in their old age, then they can do everything by themselves starting from cooking to chores. Besides, they can also meet new people and socialize with them. In fact, this is vital for them otherwise they may develop the symptoms of mental health issues such as depression, anxiety, and other psychological ailments. Therefore, it is clear that spending money on holidays is advantageous. In conclusion, spending money on holidays is way more advantageous than saving money for their sons and daughters.