In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, wearing western outfits like jeans, suits and shirts outweighs that of conventional costume. Generally speaking, this phenomenon stems from the rooted way Westerners look, fashionable and elegant indeed, and also the social media. Although, adapting new style is a positive trend, it would be tactless to neglect traditional values. In this comtemporary world, individuals have a tendency to follow the crowd in certain fields, specifically in fashion because of western appearance is in vogue. As Westerners’ looks are alluring, their attractiveness motivated people to try on. After individuals had witnessed and tested such clothes, they look glamorous to their friends and family. Furthermore, in the era of globalization, it is inevitable that aforementioned clothing can be displayed on social media. Thus, the more people are exposed to the Western culture, the more it is renowned as the optimum choice of clothes. For instance, moviegoers, after watching some Western films, tend to emulate the dressing patterns as if they were Westerners. Hence, those dressing patterns become more famous. Nonetheless, wearing western outfits in certain traditional events is not highly-recommended because the misconception about Westerners, who had invaded plethora of countries. People, who follow that misconception, detest such dressing patterns and try to encourage their children not to follow the crowd. Moreover, it would be disrespectful to wear western clothes in some certain traditional days, because of the level of patriotism in conventional individuals is great. For example, in Tet holiday in Vietnam, people are recommended to dress the national shirt, namely “Ao dai”, as it is the symbol of the country. In conclusion, the western culture, specifically in costumes, could be more omnipresent because of its inherited attractiveness and the social media. However, the traditional value is more vital and should not be forgotten and therefore inhabitants should be more cautious of the way they dress.